Cta Agreement Uk

2011 was the first public agreement between the UK and Irish governments on the continuation of CTA. Officially entitled “Joint Statement Regarding Co-Operation on Measures to Secure the External Common Travel Area Border”, it was signed on 20 December 2011 in Dublin by uk Immigration Minister Damian Green and Irish Justice Minister Alan Shatter. [34] At the same time, the two ministers signed an unpublished Memorandum of Understanding. [35] After the war, the Irish reinstated their earlier provisions on free movement,[18] but the British opposed them until a “similar immigration policy” was agreed in both countries.[19] As a result, the British maintained immigration controls between the islands of Ireland and Britain until 1952, dismaying the Unionist population of Northern Ireland. [20] Ireland and the United Kingdom today (20) December 2011) signed a historic agreement reaffirming its commitment to preserve the Common Travel Area (CTA), while continuing to fight against illegal immigration and falsified asylum applications. Countries signed a declaration to establish common entry standards and, ultimately, to improve electronic border crossing systems to identify those who are not allowed to enter CTA before arriving at the border. An accompanying memorandum will encourage the exchange of information such as biometric fingerprints and biographical data, in particular from high-risk countries, in the context of the visa procedure. The exchange of data will help prevent the misuse of the CTA Agreement, while protecting its long-established trade and tourism advantages. .